[rev_slider_vc alias=”vinification”]
To choose the date of the harvest, Adrien Lagneaux and his vineyard manager inspect each plot daily to taste the berries and determine just the right level of ripeness to give our wine freshness and complexity while avoiding the heaviness of over-ripe grapes. […]

READ MORE

Harvest plans and grape picking schedules are revised on a daily basis. This is one of the essential factors to achieve Château Petit Bocq’s top-notch quality and, even though it requires a substantial amount of work given the number of plots and the variety of terroirs, this diversity is also what makes Château Petit Bocq different and unique.

Following our time-honoured traditions, grapes are still harvested by hand by a group of around forty people who can harvest up to two hectares per day.
After the first selection on the vine, the grapes are collected in 30-litre crates to make sure the berries are handled with care and are still in “whole bunches” when they get to the vibrating sorting table. This is how we avoid crushing the harvest, which could set off spontaneous fermentation. We strive to ensure the highest standards of quality for our grapes.

This hard and meticulous work gives us the best grapes to make an exceptional wine.

Fermentation begins right after yeasting without pre-fermenting maceration. It lasts an average of a week and a half.
The first pressing is separated from the second pressing in order to obtain the best balance in the wine. […]

READ MORE

Malolactic fermentation is done in thermoregulated stainless steel vats.

A first blend takes place before the wine is stored in barrels. All of the wine is aged for 12 months in French oak barrels, 40 to 50% of which are replaced each year to give our wine the perfect balance of oak.

In order to avoid getting the same oaky notes with every vintage and to maintain a greater aromatic complexity in the ageing stages, Château Petit Bocq selects more than a dozen French coopers renowned for their unequalled know-how. The final blend takes place after the traditional collage, where the wine is clarified with egg white.

Our wine is estate-bottled and unfiltered. Each bottle is engraved with its batch number and stored exclusively in wooden cases.

Laurent Savovitch
Cellar Master

Since the 2017 vintage, vinification and cellar management duties have been entrusted to Laurent Savovitch, a well-trained professional with unmatched experience in winemaking.

From 2001 to 2013, Laurent Savovitch worked as cellar master at Château Montrose, one of Saint-Estèphe’s Second Growths. Under his leadership […]

READ MORE

Château Petit Bocq’s wine unquestionably gained finesse, character, and a certain elegance and complexity. It reached new levels of excellence: more precise than ever, incredibly well-balanced, with just the right amount of oak.

Château Petit Bocq also enlisted two highly considered wine consultants: Christophe Coupez from Pauillac’s Oenocentre and Marco Balsimelli from the prestigious Boissenot Laboratory, who have both worked for some of the best Crus Classés. These consulting oenologists help us choose the perfect dates for the harvest, and they also take part in the blending process.

[rev_slider_vc alias=”vinification”]
Pour déterminer la date des vendanges, Adrien Lagneaux et son chef de culture passent quotidiennement dans chaque parcelle pour déguster les baies, trouver le fruit « mûr à point » qui apportera fraîcheur et complexité au vin tout en évitant la lourdeur de la « sur-maturité ». […]

Lire la suite

Un programme de ramassage précis est ainsi déterminé chaque jour. C’est l’un des facteurs clés de la qualité du Château Petit Bocq, et un travail particulièrement conséquent au regard du nombre de parcelles, de la diversité des terroirs et des expositions. Cette diversité est néanmoins ce qui caractérise l’originalité et l’aspect passionnant du Château Petit Bocq.

Les vendanges sont toujours effectuées manuellement et de manière traditionnelle par une troupe d’environ quarante personnes qui permet de récolter jusqu’à deux hectares par jour. Après un premier tri à la vigne, le ramassage se fait en cagettes de 30 litres pour permettre au raisin d’arriver intact en « grappes entières » sur la table de tri vibrante. On évite ainsi l’écrasement de la vendange et un départ éventuel de fermentation indigène. Tout est fait pour préserver au mieux la qualité du raisin.

Ce travail important et minutieux amène la matière première idéale pour la réalisation d’un grand vin.

La fermentation débute rapidement après levurage sans macération préfermentaire. Elle dure en moyenne une semaine et demie.
Les premières presses sont isolées des secondes afin d’obtenir le meilleur équilibre dans le vin final. […]

Lire la suite

Les fermentations malolactiques se font dans les cuves inox thermorégulées.

Un premier assemblage a lieu avant de mettre le vin en fût. Le vin est élevé en totalité pendant 12 mois en barriques de chêne français dont 40 à 50% sont renouvelés chaque année pour garantir un boisé de grande qualité.

Afin de ne pas privilégier un certain type de boisé et de maintenir une plus grande complexité aromatique en cours d’élevage, le Château Petit Bocq sélectionne plus d’une dizaine de tonneliers français réputés pour leur grand savoir-faire. L’assemblage final a lieu après un collage traditionnel au blanc d’œufs.

Laurent Savovitch
Maître de chai

Depuis le millésime 2017, les vinifications et le travail du chai sont confiés à Laurent Savovitch, un grand professionnel jouissant d’une réelle expérience en la matière.

Laurent Savovitch fut maître de chai de 2001 à 2013 au Château Montrose, 2e Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Estèphe. Sous sa houlette, […]

Lire la suite

le vin du Château Petit Bocq a considérablement gagné en finesse, en race, en élégance et en complexité. Le vin en sort grandi, avec plus de précision et un meilleur équilibre, mais aussi avec un boisé parfaitement bien dosé.

Le Château Petit Bocq s’est également adjoint les conseils de deux œnologues réputés : Monsieur Christophe Coupez de l’Œnocentre à Pauillac et Monsieur Marco Balsimelli du prestigieux Laboratoire Boissenot qui travaille avec les crus classés les plus prestigieux. Ces oenologues-conseils participent au choix des dates de vendanges ainsi qu’aux dégustations d’assemblage.